External HDD

9 09 2008

So the most recent thing I’ve done is add on a 1TB external hard drive. This will be where basically all media such as photos and videos and music will be stored to be shared with the family.

When I first plugged in the drive, I couldn’t even move files on and off it. I wasn’t sure what was wrong, but eventually found out you have to make it your own. So you chown it by doing the following:

sudo chown -R user.user mountpoint

Where user is replaced with you username, in my case muzak, and mountpoint replaced with the location where the drive is mounted, in my case /media/disk.

This should’ve worked, only it didn’t. The problem was that the disk was using the FAT32 filesystem, which doesn’t support permissions. So basically what I had to do was reformat it. I opened up gparted,

sudo gparted

Navigated to the external disk and unmounted and reformatted it to ext3. After that I unplugged the disk and plugged it back in, ran the same command and everything was great.

Another way you can modify the permissions is to enter

sudo "filemanager"

filemanager being whatever you use to manage your filesystem, in my case dolphin. It will open up the filesystem, but you’ll be treated as the root user. You can now right click where the drive is mounted, in my case /media/disk, and click on the permissions tab. This is the thread where I got all my help from.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

