Let’s kick things off (VSFTPD)

8 08 2008

To start:
~Everything is installed on a Dell PowerEdge 2850 web server
~I installed Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server Edition. You can download or request a CD be sent to you for free at http://www.ubuntu.com
~I plan on making this a ftp, LAMP, print, and mail server.

After downloading and installing Ubuntu, I thought it would be a good idea to install some sort of GUI, since I am not very knowledgeable in command line operating systems, and I did not feel like spending all the time learning. I decided to go with kubuntu. To install this I just had to enter the command:

sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop

Now that I had a GUI, it was time to get started. I figured the easiest thing to do would be to install the ftp client. It seemed pretty basic, and would allow me to back up other computers onto the server right away. I decided to go with vsftpd as this was said to be a reliable and light yet flexible client. To install this I entered the following command.

sudo apt-get install vsftpd

After a long time of trying to customize the config file myself, I was at the end of my fuse. I knew there had to be an easier way. So I searched a little bit on the internet and came accross Webmin. You can read more about what it is on the website, but basically it’s an easy way to manage various aspects of your server. This was pretty much exactly what I was looking for. I downloaded and installed it using this site as a guide.

Now that I had Webmin installed, I noticed it did not come with a module for vsftpd. Luckily someone had made one. Using this site as a guide, I was able to get it up and running.

The issue I was having with vsftpd was with security. I knew there were ways to lock users to their own folders and to create virtual users and all that, but I just could not figure it out. The Webmin module helped me figure that out to some degree. I was able to jail all users to their home directories, but I was never able to figure out how to create the virtual users, and from what I could tell, the module was no help whatsoever. So I decided to not worry so much about the virtual part, and just create local users. So I went into Webmin, and clicked System>>Users and Groups, and selected create new a new user. I noticed vsftpd had already created a user called virtual belonging to a group it had also created, also aptly named virtual. So I figured the “virtual” group had all the right settings. I created my own users and specified where their home directories were to be at. Logins from different machines proved successful, and users were not allowed outside their directories. Everything was great.

The next thing I decided to tackle was VNC. Since I am leaving for school the 14th, I figured I probably wouldn’t be done with this server before then, so I thought it would be nice to be able to work on it remotely from about 760 miles away. The VNC which was already loaded on the system required you to send out an invitation to whomever you wanted to connect to the server. This invitation is only valid for one hour or one login, whichever comes first. So this would require someone to send me an invitation everytime I wanted to work on the server, one phone call and hassle too much. So I looked a little, and found a client which could be started from the terminal. It runs with a single password, so if I know the password and the host, I can connect. This seemed alright for my purposes. I could log into the computer using PuTTY, and execute the command to start the VNC. This site explained, in a clear and concise manner (4 steps), how to set up x11vnc. After installing the client, I simply had to log into my router and open ports 5800 and 5900.

That’s pretty much how far I’ve gotten so far. This is pretty much going straight past all the struggles and searching and straight to the successes. I know this will help someone, even if it’s just me again in the future.


Actions

Information

12 responses

17 08 2008
AlexM

Your blog is interesting!

Keep up the good work!

3 09 2008
ghost

i cant install the kubuntu desktop, how did you get the package`?

3 09 2008
baudday

if you are connected to the internet, sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop should work. You can also try sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop. But with an internet connection you should be able to download either one from the repositories.

14 01 2010
TEEDCOURDYTEP

polite answers i like it

2 03 2013
mass money machine scam

I think this is among the most significant information for me.
And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

28 03 2013
http://hghmiracle.net/genf20-review

Hi there to every body, it’s my first go to see of this weblog; this webpage contains awesome and in fact good stuff in support of readers.

19 04 2013
teeth whitening

I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever
work and coverage! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve you guys to my personal blogroll.

25 04 2013
życzenia do pamiętnika

Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this web site daily, this website is truly fastidious and the viewers are in fact sharing nice thoughts.

18 05 2013
Randal

My partner and I stumbled over here by a different website and thought I should check things out.
I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking at your web page again.

22 08 2013
traffic attorney in Florida

Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it 😉
I may come back once again since I bookmarked it.
Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich
and continue to help others.

28 09 2013
empower network blog beast

Asking questions are in fact good thing if you are not
understanding something entirely, however this article presents good understanding
yet.

22 05 2014
Most Expensive Rehabs In Florida

You need to take part in a contest for one of the best websites on the
net. I will highly recommend this blog!

Leave a comment